Real Adult Life

a diligent over-analysis of "adultolescence"

Leading by Example June 5, 2009

Filed under: Life,Musings,Work — jamiej527 @ 12:24 AM
Tags:

I recently had a conversation with my counterpart and our branch manager about whether employees were losing respect for our authority.  Punctuality was our hotbutton issue, which we agreed to address at our monthly meeting.  I mentioned that we needed to be extra impeccable ourselves to underscore the point.

“What!” my counterpart said.  She clearly thought I was being ridiculous. “They have to be on time.  We don’t have to be as strict with ourselves because we’ve earned it by earnin our positions.”

I was baffled.  I believe that setting an example was the basic foundation on which all leadership is built.  How can a manager seem credibile to her employees if she can’t meet her own basic expectations?  Moreover, why set expectations at all if they aren’t important enough to fulfill yourself?  Failing to lead by example, in my opinion, simply amounts to hypocrisy.

That said, we live in a society where rank earns priviledge,  so perhaps my view is naive and outdated.  What say ye?

 

One Response to “Leading by Example”

  1. Jessie Says:

    Jamie, that was so well put! I totally agree with you – leadership is best done through example! Sure, I see where people are coming from when they say that rank comes with its privileges, but it’s only ever confused and frustrated me when I get reprimanded for doing something that I thought must’ve been okay because I’d seen my “superior” doing it in the first place.

    Also, I really enjoyed your use of the word “underscore”. It’s very under-used in most people’s vocabulary (including my own) and this post has inspired me to incorporate it into more of my conversations! 😀


Leave a Reply

