Real Adult Life

a diligent over-analysis of "adultolescence"

Project Change: Post 1 November 10, 2009

Filed under: Work — jamiej527 @ 10:26 PM
Tags:

I recently accepted a promotion, which meant moving away from the branch I’d grown to love.

It also meant accepting a challenge.  My new branch recently struggled to meet sales goals, and I came into the position with my eyes open to this impending difficulty.

My novice mistake: changing sales performance means changing people’s performance.  And changing people’s performance is really fricken hard.   Here’s my plan:

First on the agenda?  Build a team.  I have a collection of employees, but no cohesion.  I need to figure out how to get everyone moving in the same direction.

How do I do this?  So far I’ve been capitalizing on our in-company mini-awards and creating games to keep the branch engaged.  I’m trying to build a good rapport with ALL my employees, even those who I don’t directly supervise.  And I’m leading by example to the best of my ability.

Will any of this work?  I have no fricken clue.  We’ll see.

The hardest thing about being a young manager is that the only way to learn is trial and error.

 

Leave a Reply

