Real Adult Life

a diligent over-analysis of "adultolescence"

Gender June 15, 2010

Filed under: Musings — jamiej527 @ 9:02 PM
Tags: ,

I loved my gender studies classes.  I’m fascinated by gender differences in the media.  I love and embrace my both my femininity and andgrogyny.

I’m all about gender theory, I love it.  But gender reality sometimes sucks.

Blatant sexual harrassment isn’t part of my workplace.  But I definitely feel the pangs of working in a male-dominated environment.  I’m gonna shatter these obstacles, have no doubt, but I find myself working without a roadmap.

The worst part?  It’s all cliche.  I’m working without many role models.  My tactics, effective or not, are overlooked because they aren’t traditional.  My (mostly male) superiors promote miniature versions of themselves (ie: not me).  I spend extra time fending off advances from customers.  Wah, wah, wah….

Cliches are cliche for a reason.  They’re passionate experiences shared by large numbers of people.

Or as my Minneapolis customers would say: “Shits real, yo!”

 

Leave a Reply

